[TCSC] Call for Nominations - 2019 IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing

Xiaokang Wang wangxiaokang1002 at 163.com
Sun Apr 7 15:55:51 ADT 2019

Dear Colleagues:
Please accept our sincere apologies if you receive multiple copies of this message.

                                                 Call for Nominations

                   2019 IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing

The IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing is awarded for significant and sustained 
contributions to the scalable computing community through the IEEE Technical Committee on 
Scalable Computing (TCSC), coupled with an outstanding record of high quality and high impact 
research. The award consists of a plaque and an honorarium of $1000.

The past recipients of the IEEE TCSC award of excellence are: 
Jack Dongarra (University of Tennessee, USA) in 2008, 
Rajkumar Buyya (University of Melbourne, Australia) in 2009, 
William Gropp (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) in 2010, 
Albert Zomaya (University of Sydney, Australia) in 2011, 
David Abramson (Monash University, Australia) in 2012, 
Marc Snir (Argonne National Laboratory, USA) in 2013, 
Yves Robert (UMR CNRS, ENS Lyon, INRIA, France) in 2014, 
Ian Foster (University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory, USA) in 2015, 
Sartaj Sahni (University of Florida, USA) in 2016, 
Laurence T. Yang (St. Francis Xavier University, Canada) in 2017, 
Minyi Guo (Shanghai Jiaotong University) in 2018.

Further details about the award can be found at the IEEE TCSC website:

Nominations: A candidate may be nominated by colleagues/TCSC members or may nominate 
him/her-self. An individual can nominate at most one candidate for this award. The candidate 
must be an IEEE, IEEE CS, and TCSC member in good standing. Nomination must be submitted 
via email to tcsc.awards at gmail.com.  A nomination application (as a single PDF file) should 
contain the following details:

1. Professional Employment Affiliations: List the nominee's current professional affiliations and titles.

2. Citation: Give a brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely stating the most salient reason(s) 
why the nominee is qualified for the award.

3. Technical Contributions: Describe the nominee's technical achievements in scalable computing 
as well as significance and impact. (Max 2-page length)

4. TCSC Contribution: Describe the candidate's service and specific contributions to TCSC.
(Max 2-page length)

5. Endorsers: Each nomination must be supported by letter from three at least endorsers. 
An endorser can endorse only one candidate for this award. The endorsers will be required 
to comment on the nominee's technical contributions as well as service contributions to the 
TCSC. The endorsement letters should be included in the nomination package.

Important Dates:
         Nomination Deadline:  31 May 2019
         Result Notification:  30 June 2019

Award Selection Committee:
       The award selection committee will consist of past winners, leaders in the field, 
as well as members of the TCSC Award Committee.

The selection committee for 2019 is composed of:
        Jinjun Chen, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia (Committee Chair)
         Bernady O. Apduhan, Kyushu Sangyo University, Japan
         Jamal Deen, McMaster University, Canada
         Beniamino Di Martino, University of Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli", Italy
         Laurence T. Yang, St. Francis Xavier University, Canada

More information about the TCSC mailing list